December 22nd, 2010

AED Advisory Committee Meets

The National Alternative Fuels Training Consortium, a program of West Virginia University, announced members of the Advanced Electric Drive Vehicle Education Program Advisory Committee.

The NAFTC recently hosted the first meeting of the committee, which includes 10 members, all of whom are experts in the fields of advanced electric drive vehicles, training, education and outreach.

“It was an honor to meet the Advisory Committee members in person and to gather their input regarding our project,” Ebron noted. “I am pleased to work with them and to put their ideas into action over the course of the three-year program.”

The Advanced Electric Drive Vehicle Education Program, funded by a U.S. Department of Energy award under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, is a public-private partnership with the mission of “Educating America on Next Generation Vehicles,” specifically battery electric vehicles, hybrid electric vehicles, plug-in hybrid electric vehicles and fuel cell electric vehicles. Examples of items the program will feature include curricula, training, education and outreach activities, web-driven simulators, a website and support of National Alternative Fuel Vehicle Day Odyssey.

During the recent meeting, Ebron discussed with the committee the current status of the project including items that have been completed, elements that are in process and items that will be completed in the future.

“We, at the NAFTC, will benefit from the committee members’ ideas, especially regarding curriculum,” Ebron added. “These individuals have experience in the education, fire service, automotive and infrastructure industries, project management, marketing and with federal and state governments. Their expertise will help us make the program more relevant, user-friendly and technically accurate.”

In addition to Ebron, who is an ex-officio member and the principal investigator for the project, the Advisory Committee includes the following individuals:

  • Lanny Adkins, West Virginia State Fire Training Academy
  • Gary Caille, Colorado State University
  • Gene Coulson, West Virginia Department of Education
  • Gerrill Griffith, West Virginia University Research Corporation
  • Tom Gross, formerly with the U.S. Department of Energy and now an independent consultant
  • Roy Nutter, West Virginia University
  • Andy O’Neal, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Chris Peterson, Toyota
  • Paul Williamson, University of Montana
AED Advisory Committee

The Advanced Electric Drive Vehicle Education Program Advisory Committee meets at the NAFTC headquarters. From left are Andy O’Neal, Gary Caille, Paul Williamson, Gerry Griffith, Al Ebron, Roy Nutter and Thomas Gross. Not pictured are Lanny Adkins, Joe Quaranta, Gene Coulson and Chris Peterson. Credit: NAFTC

The Advanced Electric Drive Vehicle Education Program is managed by the NAFTC. The program will generate and disseminate a variety of education and outreach efforts including training and curricula for first responders, automotive technicians, educators, electrical infrastructure engineers, consumers and other related groups.

Share this: